Dinner, Easy, Rice

Fried Rice

A meal that was always a big hit in my home growing up was fried rice. When I moved away to college, I continued to make it, modifying the recipe slightly to fit my own taste, and quickly realized why it was one of my mom’s go-to meals, and now one of mine.

 

DSCN1073

Food is (often) not as cheap as I would like it to be,ย and Tyler and I are not (quite) as rich as I wish we were ๐Ÿ˜‰

Rice, however, is extremely cheap. I prefer brown rice, which you can buy for less than a dollar a pound. Rice doubles in volume when it cooks, so a pound of dry rice can sustain two people for several meals.

DSCN0522

My other favorite thing about this dish? It’s highly versatile, so you can alter it to your own preferences and it still tastes great! It can be jazzed up with as many veggies or meats as you want, or made as simply as you want, and it lasts Tyler and me several meals, and we are (kind of) big eaters!

DSCN0539

For fried rice, youare going to need:

  • 4 cups cooked rice (2 cups dry)
  • Vegetables – pretty much any you want
  • Half a small onion, diced
  • Olive oil
  • 3 eggs
  • Soy Sauce
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Garlic Powder
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Crushed Red Pepper (if you want some extra spice!)
  • Meat, if desired – I recommend chicken, ham, or bacon

Dice up all your veggies and throw them in a large, deep frying pan. Saute in a tablespoon of olive oil until soft. Today I used baby carrots, green pepper, and broccoli. Other favorites include zucchini, peas, bean sprouts, and celery.

DSCN0531

Add in your meat, if desired. I’ve used canned chicken, leftover chicken tenders, leftover ham, pulled pork, bacon, and even tuna and fried lunch meat! The choice is yours.

Crack your eggs into the pan and partially scramble them before pouring in your rice.

DSCN0536

Turn your heat to a medium low and add an additional two tablespoons of olive oil, a tablespoon and a half of soy sauce, and a tablespoon and a half of vinegar. Sprinkle garlic, salt, and pepper to taste. And, like I noted previously, I like to add some red pepper for a little kick!

Stir thoroughly, then enjoy!

And clean up your now messy kitchen ๐Ÿ˜‰

DSCN0546

Leave a Reply

