chicken, curry, Dinner, ethnic food, indian

Butter Chicken Curry

Marissa’s caught the travel bug! Pretty bad. BUT… don’t really have the time OR resources to travel right now, much as I really, REALLY want to.

So I’m compensating by trying my hand at some different ethnic foods.

Indian food is TOTALLY new territory for me. I had it for the first time two weeks ago and have been craving it ever since. I did some food blog browsing and concocted my own recipe for some butter chicken curry.

DSCN0761

*Disclaimer: I can’t claim FULL authenticity of my Indian food. This is Indian food created from the things I typically have in my kitchen. Nevertheless, I feel like it tastes pretty great.

You will need:

  • 1/2 an onion, minced
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cilantro
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1 small can tomato sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 large boneless, skinless chicken breast, cubed (raw)
  • 3 Tbs peanut butter

Melt butter in a deep frying pan. Saute onions in the butter until soft. Add all of your spices and allow to simmer and become fragrant.

Add the tomato sauce and simmer for 2 minutes.

Add milk and cubed chicken. Cover the pan and cook for about ten minutes, or until chicken is cooked through.

Stir in peanut butter and cook until well combined. If sauce needs thinned, add more milk. Water works too.

Adjust spices to your preference.

Serve with rice or naan bread.

1 thought on “Butter Chicken Curry”

Leave a Reply

