cajun, chicken, Dinner, ethnic food, jambalaya, spicy

Jambalaya

I had jambalaya for the first time as a fifteen year old at a church camp event. It was a jambalaya box dinner and we made it in a pot over the open fire, and I loved it! My dad raised me to like all things spicy, so the heat of the dish combine with all the “exotic” flavors delighted me.

Years later in college, I set out to create my own, simple jambalaya recipe. This was my tried and tested result. Of course, traditional jambalaya has chicken, sausage, and shrimp. If possible, I recommend including all three proteins, but just one works. If you’re like me, chicken is going to be what you typically have on hand.

DSCN0873

You will need:

  • 1 large chicken breast, cubed
  • 1/4 of an onion, chopped
  • 1/2 a green (or red) bell pepper, julienne
  • 4 stalks celery, diced
  • small diced jalapeno
  • 3 C cooked rice
  • 8 oz tomato sauce
  • 1 Tbls hot sauce (add more if desired)
  • 1/2 Tbls Cajun seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp garlic
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Opt: Crushed red pepper for additional heat!

In a large frying pan over medium, simmer your chicken and veggies in a quarter inch of water until chicken is fully cooked and veggies are soft. Water should be almost entirely used up when done.

Add your rice, tomato sauce, hot sauce, and seasonings. Simmer all together until sauce is soaked into the rice.

And that’s it! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

