Desserts, fall, pie, pumpkin

Pumpkin Pie

Fall is here! We are in full autumn swing and I COULDN’T be happier. Fall is my absolute hands-down very favorite time of year, and part of that is the food. I’ve been cooking and baking every minute I can, between word and school and tutoring and volunteering and cleaning and visiting family and…you get the idea. Fall is also a very busy time.

But I’m so excited to have a little bit of time today and share some great recipes!

I start with pumpkin pie, the icon dessert from now until Christmas.

DSCN0903

You know, my family didn’t really do pumpkin pie. Some of them liked it alright, but no one LOVED it like I did. And so, I had never made a pumpkin pie until last fall, after I had been living away from home for a little over a year. I went ALL out for it, too – homemade crust, whipped cream, and using a real pumpkin, even. Let me tell you, homemade pumpkin pie beats store bought! (doesn’t homemade always, though?)

But using a pie pumpkin to make pie requires a real time commitment. Saturday evening, Tyler requested pumpkin pie on a whim, and I did not feel like dedicating my whole evening to the pie, so I turned to this pumpkin pie recipe that I found on the back of Western Family Pumpkin Puree can. Tried and true, this pie is everything a pumpkin pie should be.

You will need:

  • 2 eggs
  • 13.5 oz pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 3/4 C sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1 can evaporated milk*
  • 1 pie shell (try my grandma’s homemade pie crust recipe here)

*I used 12 oz of 2% milk, which worked just great

Mix all together and pour into an unbaked pie shell. Bake 15 mins on 425 degrees, then reduce heat to 350 and bake for an additional 45 minutes.

Let cool and serve with whipped cream, of course!

Leave a Reply

