adventure, chowder, corn, Crockpot, Dinner, fall, Potatoes, soup

Corn Chowder

I don’t know if I’ve gone into this yet. I might have, but here I go again.

I LOVE soup. I love love love love love love it. Every year, I can’t wait until it gets cold again so that I can make lots and lots of soup. Of course, warm weather doesn’t stop me from whipping up a soup from time to time, but nothing beats hot soup on a cold day. And we are in soup weather once more. Happy day!

This soup is a new find this year, one of my golden Pinterest recipes. This corn chowder recipe comes from Recipe Lion (photo credit) and is originally a crock pot recipe, but works just as well on the stove top. I tweaked mine some according to my taste preferences and what I had on hand, but I cannot sing this soup’s praises enough. Neither can my husband. This soup easily surpassed my Creamy Tomato Basil Soup as his new favorite. It is so delicious.

file_id_416559-Medium

You will need:

  • 3 diced bacon slices
  • 1/4  chopped onion
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 chicken boullion cubes
  • 2 cups chopped potatoes
  • 2 cans creamed corn
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 1 tsp season salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • 2 tsp parsley
  • 2 C milk

Fry bacon and onion together until onion is soft and bacon is crispy. Add water, bouillion, potatoes, creamed corn, corn, spices, and margarine. Boil over medium heat until potatoes are soft. Stir in milk. If too thick, add more milk until you reach the desired consistency.

Leave a Reply

