fall, pumpkin, seeds, snack

Pumpkin Seeds

I’ll admit, I get a lot of food inspiration and recipes from Pinterest, maybe more than my library of cookbooks. However, the one recipe I turn to my father for, year after year, is pumpkin seeds.

dscn0891

Dad has this down to a science almost. When my siblings and I were kids, he never carved a pumpkin with the rest of us. Instead, he spent the evening separating the pumpkin seeds from the pumpkin glop we gutted from our pumpkins, and then produced spectacular batches of roasted seeds. Every year was an experiment to create a better batch than last year’s. Pumpkin seeds are maybe my favorite part of carving pumpkins.

318411_2350420318879_179843052_n

Throwing it back to junior year in high school Halloween with siblings…We’re such babies!

This year, Tyler and I carved our pumpkins, then I dug out the seeds and once again, texted my dad for his pumpkin seed secrets. And now, I’ll share them.

You will need:

  • Clean pumpkin seeds
  • Water
  • Salt
  • Melted butter
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Season salt

Boil pumpkin seeds in salt water, enough to cover the seeds (although seeds will float). Boil for 5-10 minutes over medium heat.

Strain seeds. Pour seeds into bowl and coat generously in melted butter, Worcestershire sauce, and season salt. Spread onto a baking sheet into a thin layer. Depending on how many seeds you have, you may need to use an additional baking sheet.

Bake for an hour and a half or two hours on 200 degrees. Stir every twenty minutes. Seeds are done when golden brown and slightly crispy.

1 thought on “Pumpkin Seeds”

Leave a Reply

