baking, bread, dough, Uncategorized, yeast

Homemade Bread

It’s been a looooooong time since I’ve been able to post! All my time lately has been taken up by classes, moving, and this adorable face.

IMG_1303.JPG

Isn’t she cute?! Maizy the goldendoodle is the newest addition to our little family, and we adore her. BUT she sure does need a lot of attention!

WHEN I do happen to find some spare time, I’m still baking and cooking away. My weekly ritual since Christmas has been to bake a loaf of bread, because over the holidays in some weird kind of resolution, I decided that I’m going one of those people who makes everything from scratch, starting with my bread. In the last 4 months, that’s exactly what I’ve done.

IMG_1389.JPG

I’ve dabbled with a couple of old favorite bread recipes before I found the perfect blend of ingredients to make a fairly healthy and DELICIOUS loaf of soft bread. Nothing tastes better than a slice of warm bread from the oven.

You will need:

  • 1 1/2 C warm water
  • 1/2 Tbls yeast
  • 1/4 Tbls salt
  • 1/4 C honey
  • 1 Tbls olive oil
  • 2 C wheat flour
  • 2 C white flour

Mix your water and yeast. Allow to become foamy.

Combine everything except 1 cup of each flour in large mixing bowl. Once thoroughly mixed, add the rest of the flour.

Knead well on floured surface. Form a loaf and place in a greased bread pan. Cover with a towel and let raise for at least a half hour.

Bake at 350 degrees for 35 mins. Allow bread to sit in plan for another 15 minutes before removing and enjoying a slice…or two…or more…

IMG_1428

1 thought on “Homemade Bread”

Leave a Reply

