cake, cupcakes, Desserts, frosting, funfetti, sprinkles, Uncategorized

Funfetti Cupcakes

Happy August!

I can’t believe it’s August already! Where is the summer going?! Better get as much baking in as I can before school starts back up.

Today was a cupcake kind of day. Not for any particular reason – I just love cake 🙂

IMG_2234.JPG

Actually, I’ll admit, I was totally inspired by this baking challenge from Sally’s Baking Addiction. My mom used to make checkerboard cakes too! But I did not have time to assemble a four tiered, fully frosted checkerboard cake today, sadly 😦 Maybe later this month?

But there’s always time for cupcakes.

Plus, I got to go grocery shopping today, so I finally got powdered sugar back in pantry to make frosting. Happy day! The only downside to frosting today was that today was HOT. Is it hot where you are? Here in Northern Utah, it was nearly 100 degrees. Gross. And my frosting got MELTY. In fact, when I took some of these guys to Ty at work today, the frosting COMPLETELY melted off the top of the cupcakes in the eight minutes it took to drive there. Since part of the reason I made these cupcakes today was to impress Ty’s new coworker, I was a little embarrassed. Good thing these are delicious even with melted frosting!

IMG_2213

Homemade funfetti cake also just happens to be on my Ultimate Baking Bucket List, so I can check something off that today! AND they were a huge success…just look at all that funfetti goodness! Woo hoo!

I used this recipe for my cupcakes and my traditional buttercream frosting on top (recipe to come soon!).

IMG_2243

For my funfetti cake, I really wanted that cakey-buttery-vanilla-y taste to come through so I gritted my teeth and paid extra for the real vanilla extract instead of that imitation vanilla stuff (which I am 100% guilty of purchasing regular – it’s just so darn cheap!). But let me tell you.

The real vanilla is worth it.

If you want that classic funfetti taste, you’re going to want to use vanilla extract.

These cupcakes are straightforward and delightful to see when they come out of the oven because they’re so colorful. I got 18 cupcakes from the linked cake recipe from above. They took 16 minutes in the oven. Don’t forget to let them cool before you frost! And then eat and enjoy. 🙂

Happy Baking!

Rissa

Leave a Reply

