chicken, Dinner, Easy, fall, healthier, healthy, hiking, homemade, lunch, microadventures, quick, roasted, Summer, tomato, Uncategorized, vegetables, vegetarian

Roasted Chicken and Veggies Over Quinoa

Hey everybody! I hope you had a wonderful weekend and did something fall-y. My favorite season is in full swing here in northern Utah. It’s been mid 50s and a full spectrum of weather – rain, clouds, sunshine, thunder – in the last week and I LOVE it.

IMG_2987

 

Ty and I spent the weekend at my in-laws cabin up the canyon. We made a fire, cozied up with bunches of blankets. I read The Phantom Tollbooth aloud to Tyler, went on a photography walk, and ran my long run down the canyon. It was blissful. I needed that trip.

IMG_3073.jpg

IMG_3079.jpg

Between school, work, the blog, training for a half marathon, and, you know, just regular life things like laundry and grocery shopping and feeding my husband and dog, life gets busy. And I get stressed a little too easily. I think part of it too is the demands of technology. I’m always toggling between emails, blog, school work, and social media, trying to keep everything straight, always working on multiple things at once. It makes me feel productive, but it doesn’t make me feel happy exactly and I wonder what I miss because I’m too preoccupied with dozens of thoughts and things to really focus.

IMG_2907.jpg

But when I escape outside, to run, to hike, to just exist, it all goes away and I relax.  I can just exist in the moment, breathing in fresh, crisp air scented with rain and pine. It slows me down and I can appreciate where I am, right now, not what I have to do later or where I’m going next.

IMG_3058

IMG_3047.jpg

 

I’ve been trying to apply this to regular life: focus on one thing at a time, limit my phone usage, walk instead of drive when I can. It’s a working progress, but I like it. Just Saturday night, I chose to walk to a church activity instead of drive, and I didn’t take my phone. When I was walking home afterwards, I noticed the sky. It was almost entirely covered in thick iron gray clouds except for a strip right at the horizon in the west. The sun was setting and that strip of sky looked like it was on fire, so vibrantly orange it was against the clouds. It was so unexpectedly gorgeous I just stopped and stared. I had the thought that if I would’ve been hurrying home in my car or checking my phone as I walked, I would have missed this. But I didn’t, and I’m so glad.

IMG_2942.jpg

But onto food! Have you stuck around this long? I hope you have because I want to share a recipe that’s great for all your end of summer vegetable that are surely still populating your counter like they are mine!

IMG_3094

I have a marinade that I use on grilled chicken quite a bit, but when I had a bunch of vegetables to use before they went bad the other week, I thought I’d just chop them all up toss in my marinade and roast them in the oven and it was EXACTLY what needed to happen. And exactly what needs to happen for you too!

IMG_3092

There’s no special tricks for this recipe. It’s extremely flexible too. Use whatever vegetables you’d like. You don’t need to use the chicken if you want a good vegetarian meal, but I like the protein boost.

image2.jpg

The quinoa isn’t necessary but it’s highly encouraged. 🙂

IMG_3100.jpg

Happy cooking!

Rissa

 

Roasted Chicken and Veggies Over Quinoa

Time: 30 mins

Serves: 2 without quinoa, 4 with

Ingredients:

  • Quinoa:
    • 1 C quinoa
    • 2 C chicken or vegetable broth
  • Roasting tray:
    • 8 oz raw chicken breast, cut into 1 inch cubes or smaller
    • About 24 oz vegetables (favorites: sweet onion, bell peppers, mushrooms, zucchini, yellow squash, tomatoes), cut into similar sizes as the chicken
    • 1 Tbls lemon juice
    • 1 and 1/2 Tbls olive oil
    • 1/2 Tbls brown mustard
    • 1/2 Tbls dry parsley
    • 1 tsp thyme
    • 1/4 tsp salt
    • 1/4 tsp garlic
    • 1/8 tsp pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Place quinoa and chicken broth in a rice cooker and cook according to rice cooker directions. For stove top cooking method, see this.
  3. Toss chicken and vegetables with lemon juice, olive oil, mustard, parsley, thyme, salt, garlic, and pepper.
  4. Spread chicken and vegetables evenly on a baking sheet covered with tinfoil.
  5. Roast in the oven for 20 mins.
  6. Serve vegetables over quinoa.

 

Leave a Reply

